View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 14, 2010, 11:57am
jearef jearef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
The simplest way to remember this is on a throw-in after a made basket, ANY foul or violation by the defending team that prohibits the throw-in from being completed legally results in the throw-in being back on the end-line, the offensive team retains the right to run.
Take a look at 7-5-7(b). A team retains the right to run the endline only when the foul is a common foul, and only when the foul or violation would have resulted in a throw-in along the endline. Thus, if the thrower heaves the ball toward the division line and a defender kicks it there, the right to run the endline is lost, because the ensuing throw-in would not be on the endline. Similarly, if the foul by the defense is ruled to be flagrant or intentional, the right to run on the ensuing throw-in (after the free throws) will be lost.
Reply With Quote