Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
1. In the early part of the 2nd half G'town made a jumpshot from the wing which the convering official clearly marks as a two. The shooter had the edge of his shoe just barely touching the arc. S. FL inbounded and went to the other end where one of its players was fouled and awarded FTs. The first FT was successful. At this point the officials decided to consult the monitor and have a look at the previous jumpshot to clarify if it was worth 2pts or 3pts.  I guess when you work at MSG in the 2nd round of the Big East Conf. tourney, you can ignore the rule governing the CE timeframe. 
|
If I am reading the NCAA book correctly, this was actually handled correctly. I'll copy the two pertinent rules here.
Quote:
Rule 2, Section 12, Art. 1. The correctable errors are as follows:
...
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
Note: In order for this to be a correctable error, the official must have
erred in counting or canceling a successful try for goal according to a
rule (i.e., after basket interference or goaltending, incorrectly counting
or failing to cancel a score or counting a three-point goal instead of
a two-point goal). A correctable error does not involve an error in
judgment.
|
Quote:
Rule 2, Section 13, Art 2. Officials may use such available equipment only in the following
situations:
...
b. Scoring.
1 Determine whether a try for goal was a two- or three-point
attempt.
2. Prevent or rectify a scoring mistake by the scorer.
3. Determine whether a score was erroneously counted or canceled
as per 2-12.1.e.
|
Now, per my reading, if the officials simply declare it to be a 2-pointer by their judgement, then they may go to the monitor AT ANY TIME to determine whether it was a 2-pointer or a 3-pointer. On the other hand, had they done something like (and excuse the hyperbole, but it's the only real example I can think of) say that a shot released from behind the 3-point line and on which the defense commits basket interference can only count for 2, then that would be a correctable error situation.
In the interest of full disclosure, however, I do not officiate at the college level, and perhaps there are rulings or interpretations that have been released contrary to my reading. If so, I'm sure I'll be corrected soon.