View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 11, 2010, 12:15am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
Got you. I knew that it had to be before the second live ball, but I was thinking that since the clock was still stopped, the ball was still dead. I wonder if that's what the crew was thinking.
Believe me, guys at the D1 level know the basics of live/dead ball.

They either got caught up in the moment and forgot to consider if they could still correct this before going over for a look or simply decided to try to do it anyway and justify it later as "it was the right thing to do" or "it was technically a bit late to fix that, but getting the proper value was more important than following the rule to the letter." In other words try to couch it as a spirit of the rule situation. I can't bring myself to agree with that type of reasoning.

I can forgive just about any error in judgment, but imo failing to administer the game correctly is inexcusable.
Reply With Quote