Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
BUT: why isn't there a rule? The principle is simple, and could easily be in the illegal dribble rule or the definition of a dribble. If it's so basic, why ain't it in the book? Perhaps I'm just frustrated that I never learned this.
|
Valid point.
We really shouldn't have to dig into case plays to find a basic(to me anyway) concept like that. And btw, you got me thinking...and checking. I contacted some people that I know are involved fairly heavily with training in their respective areas. All said that they taught as a basic that it was illegal to make consecutive touches on the ball during the same dribble, no matter which hand made either touch(with a single dribble being defined as the interval between bounces). They cited that case play as justification. Of course, they also said that simultaneous touching with both hands during a dribble was not a violation, but only ended the dribble. The consensus was that the purpose and intent of the rule has always been that a dribble is only legal if it is touched once by either hand between controlled bounces with the ball never coming to rest. Note "controlled"...because a fumble during the dribble might result in several legal touches without the ball bouncing.
Why don't you bring this one up with your local rules interpreter and get his thoughts on it?