View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:40pm
jearef jearef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
-1

The RULING of that case play very succintly and definitively says "Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor."

Note that statement is not limited only to dribbled balls batted upwards. It covers all single dribbles, no matter what direction they were legally started. That's the intent an purpose of the rule, and the rulesmakers laid it out in very plain language in that case play.

That's exactly why we have case plays. Case plays are rules, no matter what reference might be provided at the end if them. The context is what matters. That play has been called a violation under all rule codes as long as I've been around afaik. It is universally accepted as being the correct and proper call. Nit-picking the hell out of it because of arguably vague language doesn't do any of us any favors imo. It might give the impression to a newer official reading this that it might not a violation to hit the ball in the air twice during a dribble. It is a violation and always has been a violation.

Paralysis through analysis.

Your lesson ain't a very good one imo.
+1

If the distinction to be made is whether the ball was batted "up", as suggested previously, then how do we define "up"? What angle would constitute "up" as opposed to "forward", or some other direction? Not trying to be a smartazz, just suggesting that to interpret the rule as others have suggested would create more confusion. JR has it right, IMO; it is, and always has been, a violation to touch the basketball twice during a dribble before it touches the floor.
Reply With Quote