View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 12:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
although this case is linked by number to rule 4-15-4, nothing in 4-15-4 supports the ruling.

The case actually involves an application of 4-15-2: "during a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

the case play ruling misleadingly suggests that it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it touches the floor. No rule in the vicinity requires that, other than 4-15-2, and then only when the ball is batted up.

Since the op did not involve a player batting the ball into the air, i submit that this case play does not show that the player violated by batting the ball twice toward the floor.

Here endeth the lesson.
+1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote