Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by NCASAUmp  So speaking ASA, you wouldn't kill it when the pitcher asks for the ball, even though he's holding the ball behind the glove? | 
	
 This is what you get when you change a play from it's original presentation (though on another board).
 
 
This is why a ball being put in play should always come through the umpire.
 
 
Given this case where (unposted) the base coach supplies a new ball, no, I would not.  They make stupid rules, they live with stupid play.
 
 
If I (the umpire) am handling the task of putting the new ball into play, yes, I would kill it since I must now perform an umpire duty not related to the calling of a play.