View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 08, 2010, 09:56am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Here's an NCAA ruling that allows the officials to correct the game clock when the shot clock operator errs, and even states to cancel the common foul which occurred following the error. However, it has nothing to do with the shot clock horn sounding or a whistle blowing because neither of those things happened due to the error of the shot clock operator.
It does tell us that the ball became dead when the shot clock violation should have occurred, even though none of the officials recognized it or stopped play with a whistle. That's instructive.


A.R. 138. The time on the game clock is 15:30 and the shot clock reads
0:30 for men and 0:25 for women. A1 shoots the ball with five
seconds on the shot clock and does not hit the ring or flange.
The shot-clock operator, by mistake, resets the shot clock. No
one notices the mistake by the shot-clock operator at this time.
The game clock gets to 14:55 for men and 15:00 for women
and B2 commits a foul against A2. Now the officials get together
and realize the shot-clock operator’s mistake

RULING: When the officials have definite information relative to the
shot-clock operator’s mistake, it is permissible to rectify that mistake.
In this case, since the officials have definite information relative to
the time involved, they shall put five seconds back on the game clock,
cancel the foul and award the ball to Team B at a designated spot
nearest to where the ball became dead for the shot-clock violation.
(Rule 5-11.4)
Reply With Quote