View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 04, 2010, 01:52pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic referee View Post
using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, jar?



Sooooo, the question in the duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo the ball never came to rest. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.
+1
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote