View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 04, 2010, 10:49am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If it was, it wasn't a tap, in terms that are most familiar to me.
Using rule book semantics...

1) a "tap" is a try for goal. There is no player control on a "tap", by rule.
2) a "tip" is simply touching the ball. There is no player control on a tip, by rule.
You can control the direction of both a "tip" and a "tap" without establishing player control at the same time.

If the ball comes to rest in a player's hand(s), then player control was established.

Is that what you're getting at, JAR?



Sooooo, the question in the Duke game was whether the ball came to rest in the Duke player's hand(s) before he directed it into the backcourt. I saw it and imo the ball never came to rest. I thought that it was tipped into the backcourt after a missed shot. Ergo, no backcourt violation. Blown call imo. It happens.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Mar 04, 2010 at 10:51am.
Reply With Quote