Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I feel awkward, 'cause you're normally correct on such things. But "illegal contact" isn't the entire definition. Contact does not necessarily equal a foul, even if he reaches across the plane.
|
No need to feel awkward. Of course, there is more to the definition, but I didn't post it because I doubt that it is relevant in this case.
Since we have a live ball situation, let's examine the personal foul definition, excluding the airborne shooter part.
"A foul is an infraction of the rules which is charged and is penalized."
4-19-1 ...A personal foul is a player foul which involves
illegal contact with
an opponent while the ball is live,
which hinders an opponent from performing
normal defensive and offensive movements.
So in order for the foul to be charged and penalized, there must be illegal contact and that contact needs to hinder the opponent.
So how do we know if the contact hindered the opponent? I would argue that since the players of the non-thrower team are not allowed by rule to cross the boundary plane there is no possible way that the thrower can be expected to play through any contact while performing the throw-in. The contact itself changes the normal circumstances of the throw-in. Therefore, any touch by a defensive player in this case meets the definition of a foul.
At least that's my thinking.