View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 02, 2010, 07:26pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
But how can you do that when 8.2.F specifically excludes such a ruling?
I don't see any specific exclusion. In each case under 8.2.F, they do not specifically apply. If the case applied, then you would need to apply that rule. Since none specifically applies (none relates to a batter-runner still in the box who interferes with a throw), then it is not specifically excluded.

If we look at the definition of interference, and absent any specific exclusion from the interference rule, we must rule this as interference, It is absolutely 1) an act (throwing hands up) by 2) an offensive player (batter-runner) that 3) impedes or hinders (blocking the throw accomplishes that) a 4) defensive player (F2 made the throw) attempting to execute 5) a play (attempting a makeable force out at third base). There are no exceptions that I can find that apply to this play, there is simply not an explicit ruling under 8.2-F. To not rule this interference would be clearly wrong, IMO.

While this might be considered a hole in rule 8.2-F, 8.7-J(3) does allow a ruling that can be supported; I would use it, and doubt it wouldn't be supported by the NUS if protested or challenged at that level.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote