View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 02, 2010, 04:30pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
There's always something to Mike's apparently simple rule questions. He doesn't just post the easy ones.

I think he's getting at the point that the BR never moved. Hence the BR is still in the batter's box.

Therefore, 8.2.F.3 wouldn't apply because the BR didn't "interfere with a thrown ball while out of the batter's box"

8.2.F.2 wouldn't apply, because the BR didn't "interfere with the fielder attempting to throw the ball." the ball had already been thrown.

8.2.F.1 wouldn't apply because once it hit F1, it's no longer a batted ball.

Sounds like we have no way to call an out on the BR for interfering with a thrown ball while inside the box, intentional or not.

Soooooo...

Bad throw catcher, dead ball out of play, award B1 Home, B2 goes to 3B, and BR3 to 2B.

Now is that what I'm gonna call on the field? Absolutely not... but I think that's what Mike is geting at - the literal interpretation of the rule.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote