View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 23, 2010, 01:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLH17 View Post
I saw this happen in a 5th/6th grade game last Sunday as I waited for my set to begin, and I had it happen to me in a SophBoys game last night.

In the 5th/6th grade game, the ball was inbouded by A1 under his own goal...ball was tipped by B1 and then A2 (or vice versa - cannot recall exactly - it was bang bang) into the back court. The chase was on and A2 won. The trail official called a back court violation. Is "tipping" the ball considered the same as "muffing" the ball in this team control scenario?
They got the call wrong. The only time I approached a partner all year was on a similar play. I was lead, she was trail, on a throw-in on the FC endline for A. A1 launches into the backcourt where it may or may not have been tipped in the FC before A2 retrieved it in the BC. She whistled, hesitated, looked at me, and signaled BC. I hit my whistle and went and talked to her about it. She reversed her call and went IW.

The only thing the tip does is end the exception that applies to the throw-in.

This play gets screwed up because officials (and coaches) don't fully understand the way the rule reads; particularly how and when team control is established and why it's not a violation to jump from FC, catch it, and land in the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote