Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Judtech  Had this exact scenario today. At midcourt, ball on baseline back court.  I had subs coming in, and hand the "Stop Sign" out for my partner.  As I am counting the players, I see confusion at the bench and only 4 players on the court. I keep my stop sign up, and double check to see if I hadn't missed anyone.  I don't see my partner put the ball in, but I IMMEDIATELY blew the whistle and killed it.  Since my hand was still clearly up I didn't want to have someone run onto the court and then we get into a furball T.All that to say, if no one notices there are only 4 until the ball is in play then that team plays with 4 until the next dead ball when they can legally sub
 | 
	
 Unlike after a time-out or intermission, the recent NFHS case play ruling (posted by JAR above) says that following confusion during a substitution process there is no technical foul as long as the player returns to the court without gaining an unfair advantage.