Thread: Illegal Motion?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 04:18pm
JMN JMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 296
Guys,

I agree with you on a no call on this and I'm not trying to be an anal rules ref. However, help me reconcile the play and your comments with the NFHS rules. (or show me the error in my thinking).

#1 - The rule book in 7-2-7 states "Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is NOT toward his opponent's goal line." If this is true, Andrew, wouldn't this 'technically' be a foul since A was initially moving toward B's goal line while he was in motion? Again, I'm not saying we should call this, I'm just trying to make sure that I understand the rule as written. According to the rule, it seems to me (by strict interpretation of the rules) that this motion would be illegal.

#2 - Mike Sears. I agree that players are allowed to shift before the snap, but this play is clearly not a shift as the player does not become set after the motion. If he did, then the movement forward is of no consequence. A player moving forward without resetting is not a shift. Agree?

Guys, I guess I'm also "hung up on moving forward" in regards to this play. Although we may allow this motion, I believe the rules call it illegal motion based upon A's initial movement forward (even though this wasn't a false start or intended to deceive).

Please let me know if you find additional information to refute my opinion. Thanks.

Reply With Quote