View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2010, 04:08am
yawetag yawetag is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
Anything after the tag does have no value. IOW, if the ball is dropped after the tag is complete, then the tag was legal. If the ball is dropped while applying the tag, then the tag isn't legal.
According to how I read JEA, unless the fielder is in the act of dropping the ball at the time of the tag (not drops it immediately after the tag, or because of touching the runner), the runner is out. The key phrase for me is "at the time the runner or base is touched".

Am I reading this wrong?
Reply With Quote