View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 05:24pm
RookieDude RookieDude is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
3 Seconds question

9-7-1
..."A player shall not remain for three seconds in that part of his/her free-throw lane between the end line and the farther edge of the free-throw line while the ball is in control of his/her team in his/her frontcourt."

My assigner forwarded the following e-mail, from a local JV Coach, and asked me to take care of it. (The names have been changed to protect the innocent)


My name is Seymore Butts, and I am the boy's JV Basketball coach at Big Time High. In a game we had last week with Bigger Time High, there was a call that blew me away. We had the ball under our basketball, we lost control and there was a scrum for the ball. No team had possession However, I got a 3 second in the lane call. How is that possible? It was a loose ball. Please clarify this rule for me.



Coach B




If some of you think you have a good explanation to the Coach...I am all ears.

Also, is this a call that many of you Vets make?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA

Last edited by RookieDude; Thu Feb 11, 2010 at 05:27pm.
Reply With Quote