View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 01:59pm
jaybird jaybird is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesears View Post
3/10 at the A-2. A1 drops back to pass and under a heavy rush and duress the throws the ball (a) over his head where it hits ineligible lineman A50 on head and bounds into the air (ungrounded), or (b) 20 yards downfield to what he thought was a vacated area. In both cases, the pass is intercepted by B1 and returned for a touchdown. By rule what do we have and how are we REALLY going to handle each situation?
By rule, we have intentional grounding.

(a) B1 may be in the end zone celebrating before the R could even think about throwing a flag. At that point, do we want a late flag?

(b) We probably would have a flag on the ground. B would then be given their options. You would think they would take the TD but there may be a case where they would accept the safety.

The A foul was before the COP so the penalty would have to be declined for B to keep the TD.
Reply With Quote