Thread: Team Control?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 01:06pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
Both teams in the bonus (1 and 1). A1 is fouled by B1 and goes to the line to shoot 1 and 1. As the ball is at the disposal of A1, A2 pushes B2 near mid court. So now what.....we have a False Double Foul. We will clear the lane and let A1 shoot the 1 and 1. If the A2 foul was judged as intentional (away from the play, non basketball play), we would give B2 2 shots and the ball near mid court. Does that sound correct so far? Each foul carrying its own penalty.....

Now, if the A2 foul was judged as a common foul, do you have team control at this point, and would you simply give the ball to B for a spot throw in? I am having trouble finding anything that says that a team does NOT have team control during a throw in......

Thoughts?
A team does not have team control during a throw-in as per NFHS rule 4-12-6. That's irrelevant though because you're talking about a foul occurring during a free throw. During a FT, if A1 is holding the ball, then A1 has player control of the ball as per 4-12-1. And if A1 has player control, then team A also has team control as per 4-12-2.

You're correct in your anaysis if you ruled an intentional personal foul on A2 while A1 was holding the ball for his FT. A1 gets his 1/1, followed by B2 getting his 2 FT's and team B getting the ball for a throw-in at the closest spot to A2's foul.

If A2's foul was deemed a team control foul, A1 would get his 1/1 with no one on the lanes and then team B would get the ball for a throw-in at the closest OOB spot to A2's foul. Rule 7-5-4(a).

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 01:09pm.
Reply With Quote