Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
W10 retaliated by pushing the offender...while I agree the action isn't as harsh as the punch... he's gotta go.
Agree to disagree.
|
Found this in the rulebook:
4-18-2
An attempt to instigate a fight by committing an unsporting act that causes a person to retaliate by fighting.
Now, when the B player punched the W player, that would instigate a retaliation. Rule of "fighting" is "an attempt to strike, punch or kick ..."(4-18-1). I don't think pushing would be considered striking, would it? Pushing is its own foul, so I wouldn't consider it flagrant for a light push like that, especially compared to the hard punch he just took to the face (surprised he seemed to have absorbed the punch pretty well, no stumbling or nothing!).
So in my mind I'm thinking just a dead-ball technical foul.
So I'm agreeing to disagree with you. Actually had a coach say that to me last year after a game, didn't think an intentional foul that I called on his player was an intentional. A little back an fourth he said "fine, let's just agree to disagree" and left. I've used that in several games since with a coach.