Thread: Two questions
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 07:21am
SamG SamG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 139
Two questions

First one from the Super Bowl...

On NO's 2 point attempt, receiver catches the ball in his hands, swings around, putting it over the goal line, as he falls, starts to bobble it and gets kicked out of his hands by the defender. Originally ruled incomplete, overturned on review. My question... commentator says receiver needed to hold possession through contact with the ground (although he wasn't touched by a defender until after the ball broke the plane), and it was only because reaching for the goal line was a "2nd move" that the call was overturned.

I thought a) since he had possession when the ball broke the plane, AND he had no contact with the defender, the try is good at that point. Am I wrong?

Second question...

Indy does this on a regular basis... offense sets at the line, Manning changes the play, linemen, WR, RBs, everybody moves (turns, steps up, whatever) in order to hear the new call. Presumably that's allowed because they have time to get set again before the snap. However, why wouldn't a normal "false start" by a lineman give him the chance to reset before the snap? Just curious.

Thanks
Reply With Quote