View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 07, 2010, 02:34pm
CMHCoachNRef CMHCoachNRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
So late in a close game, A1 is on a breakaway and B6 runs out on the floor from the table (or worse, the bench) you would just blow the play dead with no penalty to team B? Gee, I guess they could do that over and over every time team A is about to score.

Now that's BS.
Mark,
I don't want to speak directly for Stripes, but I share a SIMILAR (but, perhaps not identical) view of the inadvertent whiste. I made my comments in an earlier post. I said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Stripes,
I am not a big fan of "punitive" officiating. It is either worthy of a technical or it is not. If you had other problems with the coach, handle those issues. At the same time, inadvertent whistles can create a real mess -- as you discovered tonight. As Jurassic would say, Rulez is Rulez. At the same time, you had a great opportunity to preventative officiate.

My advice concerning "inadvertent horns" is to blow your whistle to kill the play WHENEVER possible. Do NOT kill the play if a team is on a fast break. But, for the most part, I have rarely EVER seen a situation in which the officiating crew "played through" the "inadvertent horn" with a result BETTER than had the crew blown the play dead.

For the most part, players react when a whistle blows. They also react when a horn sounds. As officials, WE KNOW that the horn is to be ignored. As a coach, I always teach my players to ignore the horn. BUT, the truth is, in 95+% of cases, when players react to the horn (to enter a game), they are taking the correct action. Based on these facts, I truly believe that we should be stopping play in the event the horn sounds inadvertently.

In your particular situation, I am guessing that the player just may have heard the horn, reacted to your "hand motion" made to your partner mistaking the motion as a beckoning on to the floor.

By book rule, since you did NOT kill the play, your partner was correct to call the technical foul. At the same time, as your Varsity crew pointed out, you had an opportunity to prevent a technical foul -- and a MESS for the rest of the game. For the record, I would have blown my whistle. I also would have allowed the sub to enter the game once I had done so.
I made the key statement bold for emphasis. No, you can't blow the whistle in the situation you described. But, my point is that I have NEVER seen in all the games I have played in, coached in, officiated in, kept score in, administered in a situation in which an inadvertent whistle was ignored and the situation turned out better than if the play had been killed by a whistle. When I say "better" I mean better for the GAME not necessarily for one team or the other.

My teams have scored many baskets over the years in such situations. I cannot ever recall conceding one, but it probably has happened. I just don't like the idea of trying to yell "play, play" when nearly all of the players have stopped, anyway.

But, no, you can't (under current rules) stop a fastbreak due to an inadvertent whistle. You CAN use preventative officiating and kill the play in most cases.....but, no, not all.....
Reply With Quote