| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				throw-in/illegal entry/technical
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			JVB, 2-person crew, sloppy game 
 
I'm T, tableside...partner the lead. Partner administers throw-in on the baseline. Partner is up to about 2 seconds on his count when the horn sounds and a sub enters the game.  
 
When the horn sounded I made hand motion to my partner seeing if he wanted to kill the throw-in or continue. He opted to play on, then proceeded to T up the player who entered the floor illegally. 
 
Coach went ballistic, was harping us all night long. I think it's the right call considering the coaches attitude (of which I should have T'ed him up when he called a timeout just to chew me out, even though I walked away). 
 
Anywho, we both explain to the coach the rule and he was, again, upset. I said coach, listen...it's a BS rule but it's the rule. The ball was live and you're player entered the game without me waving him in. Coach tried to say I did wave him in which was incorrect. 
 
After explaining again he seemed to accept the decision and walked away. 
 
Overall, it was the correct way to handle it...BUT, as the V crew said--preventative officiating we probably should have whistled it dead and re-administered making the sub wait. Either way, I feel comfortable with my partners call because of the way the coach was acting anyway. 
 
Thoughts?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |