OBR Rule 7.09(e) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.
Yes, I'm well aware of that rule and have been for a long time. When I used the term "by that act alone" in a previous post, I didn't make it up off the top of my head.
But in OBR and NCAA (not Fed), a retired runner cannot deliberately (umpire's judgment) decoy the defense into playing upon him. Trying to draw a throw by streaking for the next base after his fly ball is caught, or intentionally getting trapped in a rundown, do not qualify as merely continuing to advance. Such acts are not "protected" under that wording. They qualify as INT just as much as sticking out a hand to block a throw. That's all I'm saying.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|