View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 04:26pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I don't understand your point. In the BRD example, a retired runner gets into a rundown and in OBR and NCAA is considered to have committed INT because the defense played on him and a following runner advanced.

For a minute, forget the rundown and the question of who initiated the rundown, if such a thing can be determined. Here's another example from the BRD:

R1. B1 hits to right field, where the ball is caught for an out. FED only. R1 holds at 1B, but B1 passes him and makes a dash for 2B. F9, confused, fires to 2B, but the ball is wildly overthrown and goes into DBT behind 3B. Ruling: R1 is awarded 3B.

Note that this ruling applies to FED only. It does not apply to OBR and NCAA, where a retired runner does not have license to continue to run the bases in order to confuse the defense.

If you have a BRD, read the entire section. It's interesting.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote