View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 11:02am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Nope. #2 and #3 happen at the same time. You have no rules support for your nice little schema. You may desire it to work that way, but according to the rules it doesn't. The ball isn't dead in your step #2. The ball becomes dead in #3 when the whistle blows.
No rules support? The ball isn't dead?

I respectfully beg to differ, Mr. CumquatHead.

Basketball Rules Fundamental #16: - "The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead(it is already dead)."

The ball was dead when the official granted the TO request. And golly-gee, I think that there's a rule that backs that statement up also:
Rule 5-8-3:- "Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official GRANTS a player/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out.."

What happened after you granted the time-out is part of that time-out.

Rules rulz!!

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 28, 2010 at 11:08am.
Reply With Quote