View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 30, 2002, 08:40am
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I agree. A player doesn't have control, if he simply puts his hand on the ball. I don't care how long he is touching it.
Now you're the one not following the rule.

That's the whole point: neither player is controlling the ball.

A held ball occurs when:
Opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness.

If the defender puts his hand on the ball and prevents the offensive player from moving it, it's a held ball.
If a defender has one hand on the ball and the ball is not on the floor, the ball can be easily moved away from the defender's hand without undue roughness. This rule generally only applies when each player has two hands on the ball.

I think it is a huge stretch to say that a defender placing a hand on the ball causes the offensive player to lose player control.
Reply With Quote