Thread: Out of Bounds
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2000, 08:59am
rpwall rpwall is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 57
Out of Bounds

That's a thought provoking question!

My comment (certainly not the authoritative answer) is that A1 is burdened to make a legal throw-in ... he/she must make the throw-in within 5 seconds, he/she must not throw the ball through the basket, etc. So, if anything goes "wrong" on the throw-in by team A, team B should be the beneficiary.

In a situation where A1 hands the ball to A2, it is clear which team violated. Where B1 takes the ball from A1, it gets a little fuzzier ... who would the violation be on?

If the violation is on B, then A has benefitted even though it didnot make a legal throw-in. That inconsistent with A's obligation to do so.

If the violation is on A and the ball is awarded to B, then A has a chance to set-up its defense. So even though B is awarded the ball, it loses some advantage it had versus letting play proceed from the stolen throw-in.

Here's a twist on your question ... what if A1 holds the ball out on the inbounds side of the baseline and B1 grabs the ball ... then A1 pulls the ball back across to the out-of-bounds side of the baseline with B1 still holding the ball? Should (by rule) B1 be charged a technical foul for contacting the ball across the line? Not a likely occurrence, but it could happen in a lower level game.




Reply With Quote