View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 08:29pm
Stevetheump Stevetheump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
You made the right call.........

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachBlue View Post
I was calling a 12U rec. game last night. Had a runner on 1st. The ball was hit torward the 2nd baseman. The 1st baseman came over and got the ball and rushed over and dove glove first torward 1st base. The play was going to very close. At the exact moment everything came together for some unknown reason the 2nd baseman stepped directly between me and the play. I could't see the play so I called "SAFE". My thinking was I didn't see the out made so I couldn't call an out. I can't call what I didn't see. Of course I didn't really see the "Safe" either.

Did I make the right call?

If so, and the defensive coach had ask me to ask for help, should I ask for help? This is really not an Appeal type play or is it?

Of course if I do ask for help and the batter runner was clearly out and we change the call the Offensive coach is going to go into orbit.

Just a guestion for some you Blues with more experience than me.

Thanks In Advance

[Edited by CoachBlue on Apr 14th, 2005 at 02:22 PM]
Yes, you made the right call, Coachblue. NEVER "guess" an out. I had one last year:
R1 on first and I'm the base umpire in the "B" position (near the second baseman). Now, these guys play a DEEP infield. I'm a good 6 feet on the grass. Batter hits a ground ball to the SS. He dives to his right, stops the ball, but makes a LOW throw to the 2nd baseman covering 2nd (and his foot firmly on the base). Now, I'm in a DIRECT LINE between the SS and 2nd base and I cannot see when the 2nd baseman received the ball. I initially called the runner "safe." The plate umpire calls "time." WITHOUT hesitation, I went in to my partner and asked: "Chris, did the 2nd baseman catch the ball before the runner got there?" He replied: "Yes." So, I turned around and said to the runner at 2nd: "Runner at 2nd, you're out." Now, HE didn't change my call, but provided me with information. Now, it's up to ME to either stick with my initial call OR CHANGE IT. I changed it. I have NO problem doing that and have done so a handful of times over the course of 30-plus years on the diamond.
Again, coach, NEVER "GUESS" AN OUT.
Reply With Quote