View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 07:59am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
For the sake of discussion let's just take the horn out of it altogether. Let's assume that rather than a second left there are 5 seconds left when A inbounds and the official notices that the clock started while the ball is sailing through the air to nobody and towards out of bounds. Again in this case the play that Nevada sites would have you give the ball back to A due to the timing error. I don't like it one bit, but I believe the case play supports it.
The way that you have designed this scenario, it would only be true that Team A would have to be given the ball back and the clock reset, IF an official sounded his whistle to interrupt the game action. That is because the game would have to resume at the point of interruption and that point occurred during a throw-in for Team A.

However, if the official was able to allow the throw-in to finish and the violation to occur before the horn and without having to sound his whistle, then the clock could be reset and the ball could be awarded to Team B. The timing error was properly noticed by the official and there was definite knowledge to fix it, but play was not interrupted and the game action which took place stands. Consider this case book ruling, which does NOT state to negate the throw-in or the subsequent violation and award the ball back to Team A.

5.10.1 SITUATION D: There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter
and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1
touches the referee on the court and then goes across the court and out of
bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does
the coach of either team have in such situation? RULING: Either coach may step
to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come
to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s
rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches
and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that
there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the
throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back
on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the
referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be
rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11-
3 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)
Reply With Quote