View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 09:04pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
A1 passes in, ball bounces off a player and A1 jumps in and touches the ball before landing. This is against the rules, correct? Is it considered a violation, signal? or just out of bounds.
This is an out of bounds violation. Please remember that causing the ball to go out of bounds is a violation. In order to be legal, the thrower needs to get some body part touching inbounds and have nothing touching OOB before touching the ball.


1996-97 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION #1: Thrower A1 inbounds the ball to A2. A2 immediately throws the ball back to A1. When A1 touches the pass, he or she has: (a) both feet touching inbounds; or (b) one foot touching inbounds and one out-of-bounds; or (c) one foot touching inbounds and the other not touching the floor. RULING: The ball remains live in (a) and (c), but A1 has caused the ball to be out-of-bounds in (b). (4-4-4; 4-34-1,2)
Reply With Quote