View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:27pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by idbtc View Post
thanks for the welcome msg and thanks for the replies.

A1 and A2 did not travel while both held the ball together (stood still). A1 never let go of the ball while both him and A2 had the ball together. A1 took sole possession again and start his dribble again. I thought it was a good play (no violation) since A2 clearly had joint possession of the ball even though they are teammates, hence couldn't one argue that possession changed hands and back to A1...hence giving A1 the right to dribble the ball again? I mean, couldn't one argue that the ball was instantly handed off and then back to A1 even though he never let go of the ball??
One could argue that, but the rules (at least NCAA rules) say otherwise:

Rule 9-7. Double Dribble
Art. 1. A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

In your scenario, A1 never loses control of the ball. Hence, double dribble.
Reply With Quote