Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
9-2-2 deals with the throw-in provisions exclusively.
|
Yep, and we are discussing a throw-in play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
The above statement is one of the requirements necessary to avoid this violation only. If the player in question who touches the ball is out of bounds, this is a violation in 9-3-2, which also deals with the throw-in pass.
|
True.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
This tells me that the ball was not "legally touched."
|
And you would be incorrect about that as well.
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)