View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2010, 03:08am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I am in the group that incorrectly does it. Why is it proper in this situation to chop the time in when the ball becomes dead?
Because the rule, 5-9-4, states that the clock shall be restarted when the ball is legally touched by a player on the court. That player can be either inbounds or out-of-bounds. The clock should start on that touching and then stop as soon as the official blows the whistle for the violation. Never starting it isn't proper according to the rule.
Reply With Quote