
Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:25pm
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Mick, I read this rule the was jar does. Yes, the rule is clear, but I've always understood your posted portion to be inapplicable to a player who legally gains control of the ball while otherwise in violation of this rule.
Restrictions on what may be done after gaining control on the floor are different. Otherwise, how do you not call a violation on the player for having his rear end touch the floor while he's holding it.
If you're going to say anything touching when he gained control is excepted, fine. Will you then call a violation on the player who gains control lying on his back and proceeds to touch his elbow to the floor?
If the rules you state apply to a player already on the floor, then my understanding of this rule is completely flawed.
"Coach, you're right, he was on the floor when he got it. But then he touched the floor with his calf when he straighted his legs out."
|
- The rule is clear but you undertood it to mean *more* based on what?
- Restrictions are spelled out. The allowance to sit and hold is shown. And as you showed most of the traveling rule is based upon what a player is allowed to do, while most of the other rules show what a player may not do.
- If the player touches his elbow for any reason other than sitting upright (which is permitted), then yes, I believe a violation has occurred.
- With no exception written for a player holding while sitting on the floor, I do not think an exception should be contrived.
- Again, if the player touches his body parts to the floor in an effort to sit up, I have no violation, but no movement by the player in the sitting position is permitted except passing, shooting and starting a dribble to rise. Neither laying down, nor leaning on an elbow is permitted.
|