Look at Rule 9-3-1 Note
The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
I think they are trying to make the distinction between when the ball is out of bounds when a player is dribbling the ball and during an interrupted dribble.
Also, know that POI is not the correct term to use. The ball is awarded to the team who did not cause the ball to be out of bounds at the spot nearest the violation. POI is a method of resuming play used in particular situations.
Last edited by APG; Tue Dec 29, 2009 at 01:25pm.
|