View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2009, 09:58pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Not True!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Then BY YOUR DETERMINATION player control was not established by A1. Therefore, there was no team control, so you made an incorrect decision in calling a backcourt violation.

See the point?
There is no timing aspect to player control. By that I mean there is no length of time you have to have player control for there to be team control. For example, on the tip off if B2 gathers the ball in both hands and then immediately loses the ball out of bounds, what are you going to do with the arrow? Hopefully, you'll point it toward A's basket and give the ball to Team A for a throw-in. During the time the player had the ball you probably would not have been able to recognize and grant a timeout request. Does that still mean player control and thus team control did not exist? No! Team control was established even if it was for only a second.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote