Thread: Play situation
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2009, 11:01pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
Yes, one official did look up and see .2 right after he blew his whistle. I agree that all was handled correctly by the rule book. I was not there, only heard the situation from a 3rd party.....Funny though how some of the "higher ups" suggested that you ignore the time out and "let the players decide the game" in the OT.......

2001-02 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team A has used all allotted time-outs. The scorer notifies the referee, who properly advises the Team A coach at the beginning of Team A’s last called time-out. During play later in the game, A4 attempts to call time-out when he/she is being pressured by B2 and 83. U2 ignores the request by A4. RULING: U2 should honor the request of A4, even when this would be a time-out in excess of the number allotted. Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players in avoiding rules violations. (2-7-6; 5-12-2)
Reply With Quote