View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 22, 2009, 06:12pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Without a doubt the play you describe makes the violation, if called, more obvious. But to reiterate the point, the position of the hand on the ball is not mentioned anywhere in the dribble rule. Conceivably, especially with a tall player, a high dribble with the hand in the 12 o'clock position could easily result in longer contact than a small player making a quick crossover move with the hand in the 3 or 4 o'clock position.

Like some others, even though not written, advantage gained is often a factor in making this call.
I agree it is not written. But when it is not written, then you can use other literature used. And there have been examples shown by the NF in their Simplified and Illustrated Rulebook and used in PowerPoint slides. If they are not showing a carry/palming with the hand on top, then I think it is safe to say they are not considering this action to be illegal. The one picture that they use over and over again is the one with the hand under the ball. I just think it would be highly technical to call it a violation and the player clearly had their hand on top.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote