View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 20, 2009, 08:45am
CMHCoachNRef CMHCoachNRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
So, perhaps a rewrite is in order here.

The official may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock. Definite knowledge, such as an official's count, or an observation of the clock at a significant point by a reliable source, shall be used if available. If not, officials should confer and reach their best estimate.
I would agree. Based on the fact that a player can only make a tap with :00.3 or less left in a quarter, it should follow that the rule be changed to indicate that :00.2 be taken off of the clock in this situation, BUT only if the inbound spot is no longer along the endline (baseline for you coaches, players and spectators out there). If the throw-in remains on the endline, NO TIME should be removed from the clock AND the throw-in team shall retain the ability to run the endline.

This would seem to be consistent and fair to all.
Reply With Quote