View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 17, 2009, 09:49am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post

Nevada,
Are you saying only ONE TECHNICAL in BOTH violations in the case of the OP (team violates the 10 minute rule by not supplying starters AND is forced to add numerous JV players after the fact) since they, in essence, corrected BOTH items at the same time? Effectively saying that the team failed to provide the list of players with numbers and starters at the 10 minute mark.

To complicate matters a bit, after the coach added the six additional players and noted the starters at the five minute mark, my friend noticed TWO PLAYERS with the SAME NUMBER! Therefore, the coach made yet another change between the 10 minute mark and game start.

Is it reasonable to punish with a SINGLE technical for failing to provide the starters at the 10 minute mark (and complete list of players), and consider the subsequent changes in violation of 3-3-2 to be punished as part of violating 3-3-1 or do BOTH have to be punished separately?
There can only be TWO technicals for scoring issues.
At the ten minute mark the team receives ONE technical if it has failed to either supply the team roster to the scorer or to designate the five starters. Failure to do either of those two things at that time results in ONE T.
Anytime following that if the team needs to change a number or add a player or have a kid change to jersey to match the book, then that would result in another team technical foul and would be the second and final one which could be received for such in this game.

Please note that submitting the roster late, some time after the 10-minute mark, does not constitute adding an additional name to the team member list. That is not what that rules say. If there aren't any names in the book because the list was never submitted, then taking care of this late is only one T, not two at the same time because how can you add a name to something which has yet to be submitted?

Now in your specific situation, after the roster was submitted late another problem was noticed, the duplicate number. That would warrant a second T if the team member played. I didn't answer for that because you didn't state that problem earlier.
Reply With Quote