Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I don't have my books handy, but a team is issued a T for something like "failing to provide it's roster and 5 starters to the official scorer at least 10 minutes before the start of the game."
What does "provide" mean?
Play: Midway through the third quarter, Visitor 00 enters (otherwise legally) the game. The table buzzes, and indicates that 00 isn't in the book. I asked the table, "What information did the visitors give you to enter in the book?" and the table hands me a printed roster, with no 00. So, I take the sheet to the visitor book (on the bench, not at the table) and ask if that's what they provided. The answer comes, "Yes, and I told the scorer to add 00 to the list." The official scorer denies getting the verbal instruction.
So, did the visitors comply with the rule, or did they earn a T?
|
Bob,
JRut is correct that this is a bit of a hole in the rules in terms of definition. In Central Ohio, we also count players and employ an "at least x number". In addition, I check that the two books match player countwise (customarily, we are asked to sign both books).
My attempt at logic here is the following:
1. The team was able to put the rest of the roster on paper with all names, numbers and starters listed.
2. A PENCIL/PEN was available at the scorer's table.
3. The visiting team had an opportunity to pick up said PENCIL/PEN to simply update their preprinted roster.
Conclusion: If team is behind by less than 20 points, I would issue a "T" (I call this the Jenkins Rule). I quite probably would have done what Bob did in this situation. But, had it been a competitive game, the team's decision to take a short cut would have been penalized. If we start accepting verbal communication in such cases, a whole can of worms with which we do not wish to deal would be opened.