View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 03:47pm
Scratch85 Scratch85 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, 9.5 (iirc)
I know this has been discussed at great length and there are still disagreements about it but I think it's worth noting that 9.5 does not say "any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal." Some may think it implies that but that is their own interpretation.

9.5 states; A teams own backboard is part of that team's equipment and may be used.

4-4-5 states; When the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute part of a dribble.

These are the only two references (rules or case) that I can think of right now that state anything about using your own backboard other than during a try. I'm not completely convinced that these statements imply that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal.
Reply With Quote