View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 08, 2009, 01:06pm
TimTaylor TimTaylor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
One of those last three items had to be involved, or there wouldn't be a throw-in. Since one of those items was involved, the condition isn't met and the resulting action (AP throw in) isn't followed.

Just go to the POI rule, and follow the methods in order:

a) If there was team control, give it back to the team in control.

b) If there was no team control, but it was during a FT or throw-in, or during a try which results in a throw-in, go back to the FT or throw-in.

c) If neither a nor b, then go to the arrow.
Exactly! Think of it this way: going to the AP arrow is the means of last resort - you only use it if none of the other conditions fit. As BITS, Nevadaref, Bob & others have pointed out, a double foul that occurs during a throw-in or try which results in a throw-in (i.e. successful attempt of last free throw) clearly falls under the POI rule. Don't over analyze it.......
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote