
Mon Dec 07, 2009, 06:53pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevadaref
the ball becomes live on the throw-in when the administering official, the t in this case, places it at the disposal of the thrower. That's the rule. This has nothing to do with what the c or l are doing. The c can't prevent the ball from becoming live if the t puts it in play. The best that the c can do is blow the whistle as he observes the t handing the ball to the thrower, at any point after that, it is too late.
The crew screwed up. The team gets penalized. No one likes it, including me, but that's how the rules work. We don't get to set them aside when we don't like them.
|
a2d
|