Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto
This new this year and might explain what you're seeing in these games. There was a similar rule for NCAAW that appeared a couple of years ago, but it was abandoned quickly.
NCAA rule 10-1
Art. 12. (Men) A secondary defender shall not establish initial legal guarding position under the basket when playing a player who is in control of the ball (i.e. dribbling or shooting) or who has released the ball for a pass or try for goal.
In establishing a position in any outnumbering fast break situation, a player shall not establish initial legal guarding position under the basket.
When illegal contact occurs, such contact shall be called a blocking foul, unless the contact is intentional or flagrant.
|
Lotto, we're well aware of the rule. That's the reason for the discussion. THe contention is that blocking is being called even when the defender is NOT under the basket and appears to have LGP.