"A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt." (NFHS 9-9-3)
I know that I should always, always, always "Listen to Bob." However, riddle me this... If the backcourt "exception" rule applies to "the team not in control", does it matter if the jump ball has ended so long as neither team has established control?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
|