View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2009, 03:41pm
bbcof83 bbcof83 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
8-7-6

Article 6 Fumble After Two-Minute Warning. If a fumble by either team occurs after
the two-minute warning:
(a) The ball may be advanced by any opponent.
(b) The player who fumbled is the only player of his team who is permitted to recover
and advance the ball.
(c) If the recovery or catch is by a teammate of the player who fumbled, the ball is dead,
and the spot of the next snap is the spot of the fumble, or the spot of the recovery
if the spot of the recovery is behind the spot of the fumble.
So is there any rule similar to this in NFHS? I had a coach ask that during a JV game where, on a 3rd and 1, the QB fumbled the snap and the ball bounced forward back through the center's legs then the QB dove on it past the LTG, 1st down. We have anything? It wasn't on purpose so I think not.

I don't think this should be penalized because there's no way any coach is stupid enough to fumble a ball on purpose. But I seem to remember that the act of throwing the ball forward out-of-bounds to either gain yardage or stop the clock is a foul. True? Reference?
Reply With Quote