Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking
The original post still needs to be clarified. Did the pass touch the floor? If it did, it is perfectly legal. Case play states as such. However as for the case play in b) there is not rule that calls for this to be a violation. The case book gives a reference to infer it is illegal. READ Rule 9-4, 4-44 and 4-29. If rule book does not prevent it, it is legal. I will contact NFHS and get clarification on this. I am sure that the case play is how NFHS wants it called but there is absolutely NO rule that states its case. It is not in 4-44, 9-4, 9-5. It is an assumed rule that I have seen alot of officials try to enforce. They are making up rules and their application.
I will post clarification from KS and NFHS.
|
Sorry partner but you're the only one making up rules here.
9-5-3 is EXACTLY the corrrect rule, yet you can't see it.
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched byanother player.
The player has ended his dribble, has lost control of the ball because of a pass that has NOT touched another player.
If what you say were true, any player could end his dribble, throw the ball, run and retrieve after it hits the floor. Pardon me but that's ridiculous, it's not supported by rule, and in direct contradiction with 9-5-3. When you throw the ball, it hits the floor and you're the first player to touch it, that's the beginning of a dribble. If you've already used your dribble, then you've now committed an illegal dribble.
As for the case play, it does not infer that it is illegal. It states that it is illegal.
That's as clear as I can make it for you.